Skip to main content
Alfred M. Dufty, Jr. Award

Graduate College Giving

The Alfred M. Dufty, Jr. Award was created to honor the memory of Dr. Al Dufty, much-loved friend and mentor to many at Boise State University. The funds made available through this award are used to pay the travel expenses of four outstanding graduate students each year, enabling them to present their research results at a professional meeting.

Make a Gift

2019-2020 Awardees

The 2019-2020 award recipients are Peggy McGrorty (faculty advisor Dr. Jeanne Belfy), Mitch Mikuchonis (faculty advisor Dr. Jeanne Belfy), Cathryn Gardner (faculty advisor Dr. Jeanne Belfy), and Monica Vermillion (faculty advisor Nancy Glenn).

McGrorty (Music-MM), Mikuchonis (Music-MM), and Gardner (Music-MM) will attend the College Band Directors National Association (CBDNA) Regional Conference (Northwestern & Western Division). Monica Vermillion (Geophysics, MS) will attend the American Geophysical Union (AGU).

About the Award

About Dr. Al Dufty

Al grew up on Grippen Hill in Vestal, New York, where he was president and valedictorian of his high school class and an outstanding athlete. He attended Princeton University where he earned a degree in biology while playing baseball and basketball, serving as captain of the nationally ranked basketball team in his senior year. After a year of professional basketball in Europe, Al returned to the United States to pursue graduate study, earning M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in biological sciences from the State University of New York (Binghamton). Al joined the Boise State University biology faculty in 1988, became a full professor in 1996, and was appointed Associate Dean of the Graduate College in 2005. Among his many scholarly achievements are more than 60 published papers, appointment as Fellow of the American Ornithologists’ Union, and numerous awards, including the Boise State University Foundation Scholar Award for research. Beyond these professional accomplishments, Al’s memory endures at the university because of his devotion to students. In his roles as professor of biological sciences and Associate Dean of the Graduate College, Al was particularly supportive of students as they prepared their results for presentation at professional meetings. Al believed strongly that graduate students need to experience the national stage to aid in their development as researchers and academicians, and to help build the scholarly reputation of the university. It is this deeply held belief that inspired the creation of the award named in his honor.

Ways to Give

Support graduate students as they reach higher and strive to further Boise State University as a research institution. Use the Fund ID #FE018 to donate to the Alfred M. Dufty, Jr. Award.


The 2018-2019 award recipients are Allison Borzoni (faculty advisor Dr. Dora Ramirez) and Abby McMurtry (faculty advisor Dr. Marie-Anne de Graaff). Borzoni (English, M.A.) attended the National Communication Association 104th Annual Convention in Salt Lake, UT. McMurty (Biological Sciences, M.S.) attended the American Geophysics Union in Washington DC.


The 2017-2018 award recipients are Alisha Graefe (faculty advisor Dr. Jill Gill) and Samuel Anyaso-Samuel (faculty advisor Dr. Partha Mukherjee). Graefe (History, M.A.) will attend the Australian and New Zealand American Studies Association Conference in Auckland, New Zealand. Conference travel for Anyaso-Samuel (Mathemataics, M.S.) is to be determined.


The 2016-2017 award recipients are Rebekah Lee (faculty advisor Dr. Dylan Mikesell) and Tara Fouts (faculty advisors Dr. Sarah Toevs and Michelle Arnett). Lee (Geophysics, M.S.) attended the American Geophysical Union (AGU) annual meeting in December 2016 in San Francisco, CA. Fouts (Health Promotion, M.H.S) attended the American Society on Aging in San Francisco, CA in March 2018.


The 2015-2016 award recipients are Audrey Coon (faculty advisors Dr. Nicole Bolter and Dr. Shelley Lucas) and Kevin Tolman (faculty advisor Dr. Rick Ubic). Coon (Kinesiology, M.S.) attended the Western Society for Physical Education of College Women Conference, held in November2015 in Pacific Grove, CA. Tolman (Materials Science and Engineering, Ph.D.) attended the Materials Science & Technology Conference in October 2016 in Salt Lake City, UT.


The 2014-2015 award recipients are Marcella Fremgen (faculty advisor Dr. Jennifer Forbey) and Michael Poulous (faculty advisor Dr. Jen Pierce). Fremgen (Biology, M.S.) attended the 13th International Grouse Symposium in September 2015, held in Iceland. Poulous (Geosciences, Ph.D.) presented his research at the American Geophysical Union Fall Meeting in December 2015, held in San Francisco, CA.