Skip to main content

Google Shared Drives

Google Shared Drives are shared spaces where teams can easily store, search, and access their files anywhere, from any device.

Instead of an individual owning a file in Google Drive, the team has access to all files in a Shared Drive.

Google Shared Drives work within Google Drive.

Shared Drive Requirement

If you try share a file with a non-Google account, such as barnabas.baxter@outlook.com, you might see an error message that says your Boise State only allows sharing with Google accounts. Google accounts are required for Shared Drives created by and hosted at Boise State.

How to Create a Shared Drive

Create a Shared Drive

  1. Open Google Drive.
  2. From the navigation menu, click Shared Drives.
  3. Click New.
  4. Enter a name for your Shared Drive.
  5. Click Create.

Add Members and Permissions

  1. From the navigation, click a Shared Drive.
  2. Under the Shared Drive name, click +Add Members.
  3. Add names, email addresses, or Google Groups.

Move Files

Drag and drop your owned files, or upload files, into a Shared Drive.

Delete or Restore Files

You can delete a file by selecting the file you wish to delete, and then select the Trash icon. Note: You must have full access to delete a file. This option also deletes all files for everyone else.

You can restore a file if it was deleted in error:

  1. In the navigation, click a Shared Drive.
  2. At top, next to the Shared Drive name, click the Down arrow  > View trash.
  3. Click a file and click Restore .

Share Files

  1. Click a file to share.
  2. Click Share.
  3. Add names, email addresses, or Google Groups.
  4. (Optional) To change the permission from edit, click the Down arrow and choose another permission.
  5. (Optional) Add a message.
  6. Click Send.

Visit the G Suite Learning Center to learn more about how to use Google Shared Drives.

Need Assistance?

For more information, contact the Help Desk at (208) 426-4357, helpdesk@boisestate.edu, chat, or Help Desk Self Service.

Back To Top