Skip to main content

Distinguished Doctoral and Master’s Scholarship

Since 2008, the Graduate College has recognized the scholarly achievements of Boise State University graduate students. The Graduate College currently distributes awards annually in five categories: Master’s Thesis and Project Awards (in the Arts, STEM fields, and non-STEM fields,) the Innovation in Technology Award, and the Distinguished Doctoral Scholarship Award. The awards themselves follow the nomination categories sponsored by the Western Association of Graduate Schools (WAGS) and the Council of Graduate Schools (CGS) through their WAGS/ProQuest and CGS/ProQuest awards. The various awards have different screening criteria, generally related to measures of merit, quality, significance, originality, and contributions to the discipline. All master’s award winners are submitted to the WAGS/ProQuest competitions.

Award Recipients

2023-2024 Recipients

Distinguished Doctoral Scholarship

Ahmad Hojatimalek, Computing PhD
“Remote sensing to advance understanding of snow-vegetation relationships and quantify snow-depth and snow water equivalent (SWE)”

Distinguished Thesis (STEM)

Shane Palmer, Materials Science and Engineering-MS
“Transformation Pathways of Lanthanide Free Mn-Al-Ga-X Alloys where X = Co, Fe, and Ni”

Distinguished Thesis/Project (Arts)

Brie Schettle, Art, Design, and Visual Studies-MFA

Distinguished Thesis (Humanities)

Shelanda Kujala, Kinesiology-MS
“The Effects of Mental Training on Acute Psychophysiological Stress Responses in Endurance Athletes”

Previous Winners