Skip to main content

2018 Campus Award Winners Announced

The Division of Student Affairs and Enrollment Management hosted Boise State University’s annual Campus Awards Ceremony on April 19.

This blue carpet event recognizes students, faculty, staff and student organizations for outstanding achievement, service and campus engagement. The following people and organizations were recognized:

Commitment to Community Award winner: Janice Witherspoon. This award is for Broncos who have inspired action in one another to serve and bring about positive change together.

David S. Taylor Service to Students Award winner: Henry Charlier, associate professor, Department of Chemistry. This award recognizes an outstanding faculty or staff member who is committed to impacting the lives of students; extending student learning beyond the classroom; inspiring students to see what is possible; and seeking innovative ways to serve students in the 21st century.

Outstanding Student Employee of the Year Award winner: Nate Farris, Outdoor Programs, Campus Recreation. This award is for Broncos who approach their employment as paths to make themselves and our institution better.  Student nominees exemplify strong leadership skills, professionalism and a willingness to grow and learn.

Emerging Leader Award winner: Holly Harper. This award is for students who are charting intentional paths where they learn what it means to lead. They show a commitment to personal leadership development and are dedicated to student involvement and learning outside the classroom.

Inclusive Excellence Awards Award winner: Micah Hetherington. This award is for a student and a staff or faculty member who is action-oriented, equity-minded and committed to creating a campus environment that reflects inclusive excellence at Boise State.

Student Organization Advisor of the Year Award winner: Isaac Castellano, advisor for the Political Science Association. This award is for an advisor dedicated to changing the lives of students involved in student organizations. Outstanding advisors serve as mentors, resources, teachers and advocates on behalf of their students.

Program of the Year Award winner: Project: Dream for Tomorrow, Organización de Estudiantes Latino-Americanos. This award is for students who have created an activity, event or program that made a significant impact on the campus community.

Spirit of Boise State Awards Award winners: Andee Morton, Jake Robertson, Jenna Clingerman, Micah Buckmiller, Sarah Knue. This award is presented to outstanding students who exemplify the Boise State University Shared Values of academic excellence, caring, citizenship, fairness, respect, responsibility and trustworthiness.

Find more information and see photos of individual winners on GetInvolved Facebook page.