Skip to main content

Nominate Worthy Candidates for Honorary Doctorate

Honorary doctoral degrees are awarded by Boise State to recognize individuals of outstanding accomplishment in scholarship, creativity, public service, education or contributions to human welfare. Previous recipients include Michael Hoffman, former Gov. Cecil Andrus, Steve Appleton, Ralph Peterson, Barbara Morgan, Bethine Church, Velma Morrison, Allen Dykman, Marilyn Shuler, Greg Carr and Timothy Eagan.

The Honorary Doctorate Committee asks that you reflect on the qualifications in this policy statement summary and consider nominating a worthy candidate: “The Boise State University Honorary Doctoral Degree is granted in recognition of a career of extraordinary and lasting distinction that serves as an inspiration to students and an indication of values that are esteemed by the university.”

The selection guidelines stipulate that a candidate must not be: 1) a current government official in a position to significantly influence the welfare of the university; 2) a current student or current employee of the university; and 3) given consideration on the basis of monetary, material or service contributions to the university.

Nominations are due to the Office of the Provost by Sept. 7 and can be sent to