Skip to main content

Join campus community for Computing Colloquium with Margaret Martonosi

The campus community is invited to attend a Computing Colloquium at 10:30 a.m. on Thursday, Oct. 21, 2021 at the City Center Plaza (CCP) building, room 259.  The session will be led by Margaret Martonosi, the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) assistant director for Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE).

Register to attend here:

Overview of the NSF CISE program

The NSF supports a majority of US academic research in the CISE topic areas. Since February, 2020, Martonosi serves as NSF CISE associate director, stewarding the CISE directorate’s $1 billion annual budget on behalf of research, education, workforce and infrastructure funding in CISE topic areas and for science as a whole. Martonosi is conducting a series of “virtual campus visits” to engage in conversation about a vision for CISE research going forward, and to field Q and A from the CISE community. Please join us for this highly-interactive session and please bring your input and questions!

The CISE directorate at NSF has the mission to uphold the nation’s leadership in scientific discovery and engineering innovation through its support of fundamental research and education in computer and information science and engineering as well as transformative advances in research cyberinfrastructure. While at NSF,  Martonosi is on leave from Princeton University where she is the Hugh Trumbull Adams ’35 Professor of Computer Science. Martonosi’s research interests are in computer architecture and hardware-software interface issues in both classical and quantum computing systems. Martonosi is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She is a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery, and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

The City Center Plaza is in the Clearwater Building at 777 W Main St, Boise, ID 83702. The Computing Colloquium Series is sponsored by the Boise State University Graduate College, the College of Arts and Sciences and the College of Engineering.