Skip to main content

Osher Lifelong Learning Institute announces 2022 Faculty Grant award winners

Dana Thorp Patterson, director of the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at Boise State University, is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 Osher Faculty Grant awards. The Osher Faculty Grant Committee, comprised of six Osher Institute members and chaired by Rick Ogle, reviewed ten applications. The committee selected the following individuals and their research proposals:

  • “X-Ray Controlled Drug Release from Liposomes for Cancer Therapy.” Professor Daniel Fologea.
  • “Understanding Diet, Migration, and Environments in the Past and Present Using Isotope Ratios of Proteins.” Professor Linda Reynard.
  • “A Novel Microneedle Patch for Vaccination Through the Skin.” Professor Juliette Tinker and Professor Henry Charlier.

The Osher Faculty Grant awarded a total of $22,450 this year to support research and projects of the three successful candidates. Award winners will deliver the findings and outcomes of their projects upon completion.

The Osher Excellence Fund supports the Osher Faculty Grant. The generosity of Osher members created this fund for the benefit of supporting Boise State faculty in specific research programs. Since 2011, the Osher Excellence Fund has awarded more than $173,450 to Boise State faculty.

Past recipients include Professor Lisa McClain, Department of History and Gender Studies Program; Professor Rulon Wood, Department of Theatre, Film and Creative Writing; and Professor Daibao Guo and Professor Eun Hye Son, Department of Literacy, Language, and Culture, and Professor Evelyn Johnson and Professor Patricia Hampshire, Department of Early and Special Education.

The Osher Lifelong Learning Institute is a membership-based lifelong learning program offering a wide variety of college-level, non-credit programs for intellectually curious adults aged 50 and over. The Osher Institute is part of the Extended Studies Division at Boise State University.