Skip to main content

Shining a light on faculty research mentorship

2023 OUR Mentors of the Year posing with their awards
Image by Michael Freeman

Six faculty members across five Boise State academic colleges were honored with the Office of Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year award. The award, presented as part of the 2023 Undergraduate Research Showcase, was introduced for the first time this year.

Nominated by undergraduate students, faculty were selected by an award committee based on the contributions made to a student’s academic, professional and personal lives. The orange flame design of the award signifies the light of wisdom that paves the way for Boise State student researchers. The awards were designed and 3D printed by the New Product Development Lab on campus.

The awardees for 2023 are:

  • Steven Olsen-Smith and Daniel Fologea, College of Arts and Sciences;
  • Lisa Beymer, College of Education;
  • Erin Mannen, College of Engineering;
  • Travis Armstrong, College of Health Sciences; and
  • Saleh Ahmed, School of Public Service.

As an example of the input from the nomination packets, a student who nominated Erin Mannen said: “Dr. Mannen is my inspiration. When I think to myself, ‘who do I want to be when I grow up,’ I think of her. She has guided me through my undergraduate studies, through both academics and research. She has supported me in pursuing my dream of graduate school. And she will continue to be a lifelong mentor as I take on my future. I only hope to be, what she has been to me, to future generations. I will be forever grateful for everything she has done in supporting me.”

The 2024 Undergraduate Research Showcase is scheduled for April 19, 2024.