Skip to main content

Boise State Esports named Institution of the Year

Three Boise State representatives accept the award for Institution of the Year.
Dr. Amanda Ryan, Rae Barnes and Jenny Cummins accept the award for Institution of the Year.

At the inaugural Scholars Collegiate Gaming Awards in Las Vegas, Boise State Esports was nominated for 14 awards and won the Institution of the Year title. The team is led by Head Coach of Esports Chris “Doc” Haskell.

This recognition cements Boise State as a powerhouse in collegiate competitive gaming, following their 2023 Mountain West Conference Championship, second-place finish in a Collegiate Rocket League nationwide tournament, and numerous national and conference titles.

In addition to Institution of the Year, Boise State Esports was nominated in the categories:

  • Collegiate Program of the Year
  • Collegiate Gaming Club of the Year
  • Global Impact
  • Collegiate Tournament Organizer
  • Collegiate Team: Overwatch

“Receiving the Institution of the Year award is a testament to Boise State’s steadfast commitment to nurturing a thriving Esports community. It also serves as a testament to the exceptional resilience, teamwork, and passion exhibited by everyone involved in this remarkable journey. This accolade reflects the collective spirit of Boise State, and I am inspired by the dedication of our community to push the boundaries of excellence in Esports, fostering innovation, and empowering all our students.”Amanda Ryan, Assistant Dean, College of Innovation + Design

Headshot of Boise State Esports player, Emiliano Flores.
Emiliano Flores (aka ‘Durtho’)

Seven individual Boise State Esports players were also nominated for awards. Boise State Rocket League player, Emiliano Flores, also know as ‘Durtho,’ took home the coveted title of Collegiate Player of the Year. This achievement follows Flores’ impressive journey, marked by the National Association of Esports Coaches and Directors All-American award, a Mountain West Rocket League championship and a remarkable run to the Collegiate Rocket League Worldwide Championship. Flores, a sophomore at Boise State, is pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Health Studies, with a goal of becoming a perfusionist.

“We’ve been blessed with so many honors in our years in Esports, but the recognition of our students brings me more joy than all other honors combined.”Doc Haskell, Head Coach of Esports, College of Innovation + Design

A program housed in the College of Innovation + Design, Boise State Esports boasts more than 2,000 live broadcasts, over 1,200 total wins, four national and 11 conference titles, 2022 Program of the Year, and over 40 individual, team, and broadcast awards.

As part of the internationally recognized Esports Awards program, Scholars celebrates the exceptional achievements of gaming scholars like Flores and the entire Boise State Esports team. Their dedication, skill, and commitment have not only brought home trophies but also redefined the boundaries of Esports.

Four Boise State Esports players holding their scholars awards.
From left to right: Jenny Cummins, Joey Paci, John Rinella, and Jonathan Foraker receiving their Scholars awards.