Skip to main content

Joie Burns Named Idaho Radiological Technologist of the Year

Joie Burns

Joie Burns, director of the sonography program in the Department of Radiologic Sciences, received the Jean Machacek Memorial Award (JMMA) from the Idaho Society of Radiologic Technologists at their recent annual conference in McCall April 26-27. The JMMA is presented to honor the Society’s “Radiological Technologist of the Year”.

The Jean Machacek Memorial Award recognizes individuals who positively affect the profession, peers and students; demonstrate leadership and service in the profession; display a commitment to continued education beyond the requirements of the profession; and has made significant contributions to the profession in areas of research, publication, and presentation.

This award is named in honor of Jean Machacek, who was an exemplary radiologic technologist in the state of Idaho from 1959-1978.