Skip to main content

Nominate Faculty for University Foundations Teaching Awards by Dec. 1

Administrators, faculty, staff and students are encouraged to nominate exemplary Boise State faculty members for University Foundations teaching awards by Dec. 1.

The awards recognize the essential contribution those teaching non-majors make to the core mission of public education: to educate citizens both for making a living and making a life as individuals and community members. One faculty member from each of the following course categories will  be recognized by University Foundations and the General Education Committee.

Foundations of the Disciplines Categories:

  • Foundations of Writing
  • Foundations of Oral Communication
  • Foundations of Mathematics
  • Foundations of Natural, Physical, and Applied Sciences
  • Foundations of Humanities
  • Foundations of Arts
  • Foundations of Social Sciences

Other Categories:

    • Foundations of Intellectual Life
    • Foundations of Ethics and Diversity
    • Finishing Foundations

In addition, six winners from the Foundations of the Discipline categories will become Boise State’s nominees for the Idaho State Board of Education’s new GEM awards, which will celebrate outstanding general education teaching across Idaho’s universities.

Nominations should include a one- to two-page letter of nomination that describes why the nominee is being recommended for this award, including the category of nomination and the course(s) taught by the instructor.  Nominators are encouraged to cite evidence of exemplary teaching, creativity in course design or implementation and/or excellence in translating disciplinary methods of inquiry to non-majors.

Additionally, nominators can opt to include up to four pages of supporting materials, including secondary letters of support from deans, chairs and/or students.

Eligible work includes all teaching completed within a calendar year – for example, courses taught in spring 2018 through fall 2018.

Please submit nominations by emailing them to by Dec. 1.