Skip to main content

Karan Tucker to Be Honored at Commitment to Idaho Ceremony May 14

Boise State’s School of Public Service is honoring Karan Tucker, the executive director of nonprofit health and human services organization Jannus, with the 2019 Commitment to Idaho Award. Tucker will be recognized at a reception from 4-6 p.m. Tuesday, May 14, in the Boise State Alumni and Friends Center Ballroom on the campus of Boise State University. The event is open to the public.

Tucker was chosen from among dozens of individuals and organizations nominated by the public.

“Jannus, under the leadership of Karan Tucker, is making a tremendous positive difference in the lives of thousands of Idahoans every year,” said Corey Cook, dean of the School of Public Service. “Their focus on community health, suicide prevention, mental health and nutrition has an immediate impact, and their work in public policy and economic opportunity has a long-lasting effect. Our value of serving the public is one that Tucker clearly shares, and the employees and volunteers of Jannus put into practice every day.”

Melissa Davlin also will be recognized at the ceremony with the third annual Enhancing Public Discourse Award. Davlin is the host of the Idaho Public Television series “Idaho Reports” and a well-respected journalist with the Twin Falls Times-News. Previous award honorees are journalist Betsy Russell and City Club founder Dottie Stimpson.

The Commitment to Idaho Award, now in its fourth year, recognizes individuals and organizations committed to improving the lives of Idahoans. Previous winners have been U.S. Rep. Mike Simpson for his work securing National Wilderness protection for the Boulder-White Clouds (now known as the Cecil D. Andrus-White Clouds Wilderness), former state legislator and educator Bruce Newcomb, and last year’s winner, Interfaith Sanctuary.

Cook will present the awards, along with three faculty and staff achievement awards. RSVPs are encouraged. More information can be found at: