Skip to main content

Faculty named Idaho Counselor Educator of the Year, students awarded for research at conference

The Department of Counselor Education at Boise State University was recognized for excellence in its field, receiving several top awards at the Idaho Counseling Association conference held Nov. 8-9 in Boise. 

Regina Moro, Idaho Counselor Educator of the Year.

Regina Moro, an associate professor of counselor education, was awarded Idaho Counselor Educator of the Year. Graduate students in counselor education also took home first-, second- and third-place awards for poster presentations of their research.

The conference is an annual state-level professional gathering of counselors from schools and private practice, counselor educators, master’s and doctoral students. In addition to awards and peer-reviewed presentations, the conference offers attendees continuing education credits and gives students the opportunity to present their work.

“These research awards are a significant recognition of the high level of scholarship our students are involved in producing, which inform the counseling field in meaningful ways,” said Aida Midgett, a professor and chair of counselor education. “Dr. Moro’s award is a high honor for a faculty member, inspiring her to continue to invest in the growth of our students. These awards highlight the excellent work being done in the program by both faculty and students at Boise State.”

Three students show off their awards
From left: students Andrea Pikes, Sherise Porchia and Teresa Maynes.

Teresa Maynes was awarded first place for her research, “The Relationship Between Substance Use and Religion”; Sherise Porchia took second place for “Parents are the Solution: Acceptability of an Online Parent-Based Alcohol Intervention for High School Students”; and third place was awarded to Andrea Pikes for “Evaluating the Effectiveness of a Brief, Bullying Intervention Program (STAC) on Reducing Bullying and Biased-Based Victimization in an Ethnically-Blended Low-Income School.” All three are students in the master’s counselor education program in the College of Education.