Skip to main content

Nomination period for Idaho research excellence award open

Inspired by University of Idaho Distinguished Professor Jean’ne M. Shreeve for her imaginative leadership for more than 20 years, Idaho EPSCoR launched the Jean’ne M. Shreeve National Science Foundation (NSF) Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) Research Excellence Award. Nominations of eligible faculty members can be made on an annual basis. The nomination period for the 2020 award now is open. Nominations are due by 5 p.m. (PST) on May 8.

The award recognizes the accomplishments of faculty members at Boise State University, Idaho State University, the University of Idaho or other state institutions of higher education who have previously been active participants in the NSF EPSCoR program. It highlights the substantial value of the NSF EPSCoR program to the State of Idaho, as well as the individual accomplishments of the recipient. The award may recognize a single significant contribution or an accumulation of significant contributions that have received national or international recognition.

The award includes a plaque, a monetary award of at least $5,000 and an additional amount to support the cost of research or professional activities that contribute to the productivity of the award winner.

The nominee must:

  • Hold the rank of tenured associate professor or tenured full professor at the University of Idaho, Boise State University, Idaho State University or other eligible institution at the time the award is made
  • Have a research career that was clearly advanced by NSF EPSCoR
  • Have an outstanding publication record as author or co-author in referred international journals
  • Be engaged in ongoing externally supported competitive research program(s) which involve students and/or postdoctoral coworkers

See full details here: