Skip to main content

Boise State Nursing Student Selected for National American Psychiatric Nurses Association Janssen Student Scholarship

Boise State student Ryoko Pentecost is one of 15 undergraduate nursing students to be awarded the American Psychiatric Nurses Association (APNA) Janssen Student Scholarship, which includes complimentary registration, travel and lodging to attend the APNA 26th Annual Conference in Pittsburgh, Penn, plus a one year complimentary membership in the APNA.

The APNA Ortho-McNeil Janssen Scientific Affairs, LLC Student Scholarship Program, established in partnership with Ortho-McNeil Janssen Scientific Affairs, recognizes outstanding graduate and undergraduate nursing students who have demonstrated a commitment to psychiatric mental health (PMH) nursing, and seeks to foster their professional growth and development within the PMH nursing field.

There were more than 300 applications from nursing students across the country for this year’s scholarship. The applications underwent rigorous review by the Awards & Recognition Committee, who awarded the scholarship to 15 undergraduate and 15 graduate students exemplifying an aptitude to excel in the psych nursing field. The scholarship includes registration, travel and lodging expenses to attend the APNA 26th Annual Conference in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, November 7-10, 2012. The recipients also receive a one year complimentary membership in the APNA. “We appreciate the opportunity to honor these students and look forward to taking part in their continued professional growth,” says APNA President Marlene Nadler-Moodie, MSN, APRN, PMHCNS-BC.

At the APNA Annual Conference, scholarship recipients will network with psychiatric mental health nurses from all levels and areas of practice while experiencing interactive panels, discussions, and presentations led by prestigious leaders in the field. Similarly, APNA membership will provide them with the opportunity to communicate with and be mentored by experts in psychiatric nursing through APNA’s online networking community and through participation in APNA councils and committees. Additionally, as members, the Scholars will have access to a wealth of resources in psychiatric mental health nursing professional development and continuing education.

The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is a national professional membership organization committed to the specialty practice of psychiatric-mental health nursing and wellness promotion, prevention of mental health problems and the care and treatment of persons with psychiatric disorders. APNA’s membership is inclusive of all psychiatric mental health registered nurses including associate degree, baccalaureate, advanced practice (comprised of clinical nurse specialists and psychiatric nurse practitioners), and nurse scientists and academicians (PhD). APNA serves as a resource for psychiatric mental health nurses to engage in networking, education, and the dissemination of research.

The American Psychiatric Nurses Association is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.

Recipients of the 2012 APNA Janssen Undergraduate Student Scholarship are: Nathanial Anderson, Southern Utah University; Alexandra Baker, Jacksonville University; Christina Bello, Hope College; Cathryn Elizabeth Burley, Texas State University; Kristin Carr, University of Minnesota; Sarah Collins, University of Texas; Beth Corcoran, University of Florida; Amber Gamel, Chemeketa Community College; Amalia Gedney, University of Iowa; Abbey Knur, Northern Illinois University; Ryoko Pentecost, Boise State University; Harpreet Singh-Gill, Marquette University; Caitlyn Stein, University of Mary; Jennifer Suarez, Oregon Health Science University, Monmouth; Emily Weyer, Emory University

Recipients of the 2012 APNA Janssen Graduate Student Scholarship are: Lisa Ann Chavis, University of Louisiana, Lafayette; Erin De Guzman, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Jessica DiNisco, Vanderbilt University; Carolyn Enders, Vanderbilt University; Erik Lee, Samuel Merritt University; Adam Margolis, University of Tennessee Health Science Center; Suzanne Medina, DeSales University; Kosuke Niitsu, University of Nebraska; Elvira Maria Pertega Andia, New York University; Shannon Richmond, University of Pennsylvania; Laura Romano, Rutgers University; Melinda Roth, Illinois State University; Monique Sawyer, Arizona State University; Cynthia Wilborn, University of Tennessee Health Science Center; Kathy Wright, University of Utah.