Skip to main content


Front Line: Shane Palmer, Ammon Butler, Paul Lindquist, Peter Müllner Back line: Bibek Karki, Gianella Condor, John Martin, Robert Stroud

Front Line: Shane Palmer, Ammon Butler, Paul Lindquist, Peter Müllner
Back line: Bibek Karki, Gianella Condor, John Martin, Robert Stroud


Current Members

Dr. Peter Müllner (professor and lead)
Dr. Paul Lindquist (staff scientist)
Dr. Aaron Smith (visiting affiliate)

Bibek Karki (graduate student)
John Martin (graduate student)
Shane Palmer (graduate student)
Robert Stroud (graduate student)

Ammon Butler (undergraduate student)
Gianella Condor (undergraduate student)


Dr. J. M. Barandiaran (March 2008, University of the Basque Country, Bilbao, Spain)
Dr. Steffen Brinckmann (February 2011, Ruhr University Bochum, Germany)
Dr. Feng Chen (November 2013 – October 2014)
Dr. Volodymyr Chernenko (September-December 2005, March-April 2008, July-August 2012, University of the Basque Country, Bilbao, Spain)
Dr. David C. Dunand (October 2007, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois)
Dr. Uwe Gaitzsch (October, 2010-February, 2011, Leibniz Institute for Solid State and Materials Research, Dresden, Germany)
Dr. Alexander H. King (September 2008, Ames National Laboratory, Ames, Iowa)
Dr. Thomas Lograsso (February 2010, Ames National Laboratory, Ames, Iowa)
Dr. Robert C. Pond (September-October 2009, July 2011, June 2013, August-September 2017, University of Exeter, England)
Dr. Rafal Wroblewski (March-June 2014, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland)
Dr. Hu Zhang (October 2016-October 2017, University of Science and Technology of Beijing, China)
Dr. Xuexi Zhang (September 2008, Harbin University of Technology, China)

Matt Caputo (June 2017)
Jessica Drache (October, 2010-January, 2011, Technical University Dresden, Germany)
Juan Manuel Hernandez Calderon (January-April 2017)
Frans Nilsén (September 2017, Aalto University, Helsinki, Finland)
Benjamin Reinholz (May, 2012, Interdisciplinary Centre for Advanced Materials Simulation, Bochum, Germany)
Iván Rodriguez (March-April 2011, July-August 2012, University of the Basque Country, Bilbao, Spain)
Abhishek Somani (May – August 2019, REU participant)
Christian Titsch (June-September 2017, Technical University Chemnitz, Germany)
Peiqi Zheng (2008, 2009, 2010, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois)

Former Members

Dr. Markus Chmielus (MS MSE, PhD 2005-2010)
Dr. Anthony Hobza (PhD, MSE, 2013-2017)
Dr. Brittany Muntifering (doctoral student, 2009-2014)
Dr. Kari Ullakko (visiting professor, 2010-2011)

Claire Adams (undergraduate student, 2019-2020)
Terry Adolfson (science teacher, RET participant, summer 2018)
Rebecca Ahern (undergraduate student 2007-2008)
Nadia Ahmed (High school intern 2013)
Kimball Anderson (undergraduate student, 2010-2012)
Sam Barker (undergraduate student, 2012-2016)
Brittnie Blessie (undergraduate student, 2011-2013)
Miranda Buttram (undergraduate student, 2012-2015)
Dave Carpenter (MS MSE, 2005-2008)
Brittany Carr (lab assistant 2013)
Yueli Chen (undergraduate student, REU participant, summer 2015)
William D’Onofrio (High school intern 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013)
Corey Efaw (undergraduate student, 2013)
Dillon Eyer (undergraduate student, 2019-2020)
Kevin Finn (undergraduate student, 2014-2017)
Martika Flores (undergraduate student,2011-2013)
Eric Frank (undergraduate student, REU participant, summer 2016)
Justina Freilich (undergraduate student, 2015-2018)
Alan Geleynse (undergraduate student 2008)
Arwen Gelsthorpe (science teacher, RET participant, summer 2015)
Jaime Guevara (undergraduate student, 2018-2019)
Mike Hagler (undergraduate student, MS ME 2004-2008)
Zachary Harris (undergraduate student 2013-2014)
Zoe Hern (May – August 2019, REU participant)
Courtney Hollar (undergraduate student 2011-2013)
Jeff Huntsinger (ME MSE, 2012-2014)
Tamara Jackson (undergraduate student 2016-2018)
Sam Johnson (undergraduate student intern, 2013-2015)
Brent Johnston (undergraduate student, 2017-2019)
Doug Kellis (MS MSE, 2008-2011)
Nikki Kuczas (undergraduate student, MS MSE 2006-2015)
Jiheon Kwon (undergraduate student, 2018-2020)
Brian Lambson (graduate student, 2008)
Ted Lawrence (MS MSE, 2012-2014)
Sara Lilly (science teacher, RET participant, summer 2017)
Glen Lindquist (summer intern,2010)
Ernest Maiteri (undergraduate student, 2009-2010)
Ken McDonald (undergraduate student, 2010-2011)
Andrew Morrison (undergraduate student 2012-2015)
Jason Mumford (undergraduate student, 2012)
Hailee Munoz (undergraduate student 2020-2021)
Alex Mussell (undergraduate student 2015-2017)
Ali Mustafa (undergraduate student, 2018-2020)
Danielle Nichols (undergraduate student, 2017)
Warren Parsons (graduate student, 2012)
Link (Charles) Patrick (undergraduate student, 2011-2015)
Lance Patten (undergraduate student, 2013)
Paige Plaskonos (undergraduate student, REU participant, summer 2017)
Chris Pohl (undergraduate student, 2007)
Matt Reinhold (undergraduate student, 2006-2009)
Eric Rhoads (undergraduate student, 2012-2015)
Adrian Rothenbühler (undergraduate student, 2007-2011)
Carl Rustad (summer undergraduate student 2015, 2016, 2017)
Sierra Sandison (undergraduate student, 2018-2019)
Dave Schenker (undergraduate student, 2009-2011)
Brittany Siewert (undergraduate student, 2010-2011)
Aaron Smith (undergraduate student, 2011)
David Staniec (undergraduate student, 2012)
Annika Thomas (undergraduate student, REU participant, summer 2018)
Amber Thompson (undergraduate student 2012-2013)
Ian Varie (undergraduate student, 2019-2020)
Chad Watson (research engineer 2010-2015)
Kimo Wilson (undergraduate student, MS MSE, 2005-2013)
Cassie (Witherspoon) Bassett (MS MSE, 2008-2011)