Skip to main content

Lightning Talks and DOE Webinar

Faculty Research Lightning Talks

New Models of Collaborative Research

The Center for Research and Creative Activity presents virtual faculty research lightning talks around the theme, New Models of Collaborative Research. Join us on Friday, April 8th at 11:00 a.m. for faculty presentations and brief question/answer discussions. Please complete the google registration form to receive a calendar invite with a zoom link.

List of presenters:

  1. Steven Hyde, Ph.D., Management Department, Boise State University & Richard Gretz, Ph.D., Marketing Department, University of Texas San Antonio The Tangled Webs We Weave: Examining the Effects of CEO’s Use of Deceptive Language on Analyst Recommendations
  2. Libby Lunstrum, Ph.D., School of Public Service, Boise State University & Matt Williamson, Ph.D., Human-Environment Systems, Boise State UniversityIndigenous-Led Ecological Restoration: Negotiating Colonial Structures
  3. Megan Frary, Ph.D., Materials Science and Engineering, Boise State University & Julianne Wenner, Ph.D., Science Education, Clemson University A Two-legged Stool Can’t Balance on its Own
  4. Kelly Rossetto, Ph.D., Department of Communication, Boise State University & Eric Martin, Ph.D., Department of Kinesiology, Boise State UniversitySuccesses and Challenges of Developing Multi-disciplinary Resilience Research and Programming

Downloadable PDF Poster – New Models of Collaborative Research


Grant Writing for Early Career Scientists Webinar

U.S. Department of Energy: Office of Science

The grant writing and review process can feel daunting and difficult to navigate for young investigators. Learn tips and best practices from experts on how to successfully craft a scientific proposal for federal grants, industry partnerships, and non-profit support. After short presentations from each panelist, there will be a live question and answer session with the audience. This Zoom webinar is free and open to the public.


  • Professor Phillip Christopher is the Mellichamp Chair in Sustainable Manufacturing and a Professor in the Chemical Engineering Department at the University of California, Santa Barbara. His awards include a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE).
  • Professor Marc Kastner is Donner Professor of Physics, Emeritus, at MIT and Adjunct Professor of Physics at Stanford. He was the founding president of the Science Philanthropy Alliance from 2015 through 2019; he is now a Senior Science Advisor to the Alliance. Kastner has chaired the Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee (BESAC) since 2018.
  • Dr. Athena Sefat is a program manager for the Physical Behavior of Materials (PBM) program in Basic Energy Sciences (BES) and oversees a few of the Energy Frontier Research Centers (EFRCs) within BES. Dr. Sefat received a Department of Energy’s Office of Science Early Career Research Program Award in 2010 while at Oak Ridge National Laboratory.
  • Dr. Junko Yano is a Senior Scientist and interim Director in the Molecular Biophysics and Integrated Bioimaging Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. She leads the Photodynamics Team in the Liquid Sunlight Alliance (LiSA) and was one of the scientific leaders in the Joint Center for Artificial Photosynthesis (JCAP).

Event Details: April 12, 2022 2:00-3:00 pm EDT

Please complete the registration link if interested.