Skip to main content

Nominations being accepted now: DOE 2025 Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award

The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science invites nominations for the 2025 Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award, one of the longest-running and most prestigious science and technology awards given by the U.S. government. The Lawrence Award is presented by the Secretary of Energy to honor mid-career U.S. scientists and engineers for exceptional technical contributions and achievements in research and development, supporting DOE’s mission and its programs to advance the national, economic, and energy security of the United States.

Award Categories

Awards will be considered in each of the following nine categories:

  1. Atomic, Molecular, and Chemical Sciences
  2. Biological and Environmental Sciences
  3. Computer, Information, and Knowledge Sciences
  4. Condensed Matter and Materials Sciences
  5. Energy Science and Innovation
  6. Fusion and Plasma Sciences
  7. High Energy Physics
  8. National Security and Nonproliferation
  9. Nuclear Physics.


Deadline to submit a nomination: Thursday, May 9, 2024, 5:00 p.m. Eastern (3pm Mountain).

Required Materials

Required materials include:

  • Nominations must include statements summarizing the candidate’s achievements and connection to DOE support
  • Three to six letters of support
  • A curriculum vitae
  • A short bibliography.

An independent panel of eminent experts will be convened by DOE to review nominations in each award category and inform award recommendation(s) submitted to the Secretary of Energy. Final award selections are made by the Secretary of Energy. Each Lawrence Award category award winner receives a citation signed by the Secretary, a gold-plated medal bearing the likeness of Ernest O. Lawrence, and a $20,000 honorarium. In the event the award is given to more than one individual within an award category, the recipients share the honorarium equally. To read nomination guidelines and submit a nomination visit Lawrence Award Nomination & Selection Guidelines


Please consider nominating a colleague and encouraging nominations by sharing this broadly with colleagues and professional networks. Thank you for your help with this important award program.


Questions may be addressed to Kaitlyn (Katie) Schroeder-Spain, Ph.D., Lawrence Award Program Manager, at