Skip to main content

25 Questions with Mackenzie Moss

Mackenzie in Arizona
Mackenzie in Arizona

We aren’t just researchers here at the Idaho Policy Institute. Get to know the team with a 25 Questions series.

Q: What’s keeping you busy these days?
A: When I’m not doing school or IPI related work, I enjoy gardening. This year I had tomatoes, cucumbers, zucchinis, onions, asparagus, kale, spinach, snap peas, grapes, peppers, and potatoes.

Q: Three things you could talk about for 30 minutes straight?
A: I can always talk about my cat, self-care, and music.

Q: What advice do you wish you had 10 years ago?
A: I wish I knew how much life’s constants are actually always changing, I would have enjoyed a few people, places, and things a little more if I had known I wouldn’t always have them.

Q: Were you named after anyone?
A: My middle name is Ann, after my grandma Anna.

Q: Favorite place to be?
A: My favorite place to be is in the forest, preferably on a mountain with a river and hot springs nearby.

Q: Oddest job?
A: I worked in childcare for years, and I am always grateful for the ridiculous stories and memories it produced.

Q: What is your favorite quote and why?
A: My current favorite mantra is “Embrace Insecurity,” because it’s never led me astray yet.

Q: In elementary school, what activities did you get excited about and what were you best at?
A: I always liked arts and crafts but was only ever good at the crafts part.

Q: What would you name your autobiography?
A: Return of the Mack

Q: What kind of problems do you best solve?
A: I’m best at solving problems that don’t have one right answer.

Q: What was the scariest thing to you as a kid?
A: Spiders have always scared me, and only a little less now than when I was a kid.

Q: What did you study for your undergraduate degree?
A: I got my undergraduate degree in Social Work with a Spanish Minor.

Q: Something you can’t do?
A: I can’t parallel park.

Q: What sport are you best at?
A: I am not particularly good at any sports, but I like playing for fun. If I had to pick one it would be biking which I don’t ever do competitively.

Q: What is your favorite snack?
A: Right now my favorite snack is hummus and pita.

Q: What are your parents’ occupations?
A: My mom is a teacher among other things, and my dad is a Social Worker.

Q: Do you have any pets? How many? What kind?
A: I have 1 pet, my cat Minnie. I’ve had her since she was a kitten, and she is now 14.

Q: What do you get lost at work in?
A: I usually get lost at work at things that are task based. I like the organization of crossing something off my list.

Q: Favorite cereal?
A: Unpopular opinion – Grape Nuts.

Q: In a team environment, what role do you usually take on?
A: I usually play an organization/project management role.

Q: Where is your favorite place to eat?
A: My back patio is my favorite place to eat.

Q: Your favorite invention?
A: The telephone, because of how many times it’s allowed me to talk to my people even when they aren’t with me.

Q: What do you worry about?
A: Most things, and it’s usually not worth it.

Q: Do you play an instrument?
A: Someday I will know how to play the piano and guitar.

Q: What is your favorite sport to watch?
A: Anything live, and football on T.V.