Skip to main content

Student Group Receives Prestigious Award from World’s Largest HR Association

The Boise State University chapter of the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) has received a Merit Award designation for providing superior growth and development opportunities to its student chapter members during April 2016- March 2017. The chapter will be recognized for their outstanding achievements at the SHRM Annual Conference and Exposition in New Orleans in June 2017.

Of the 327 student chapters from across the United States, Boise State University was one of 149 winners.

Officers for the Boise State chapter are Jillian Lumbert, president; Jeff Scaggs, vice president; Gabrielle Baird, treasurer and Jahna Briggs, merit award director. Faculty advisors are James Wanek and Gundars Kaupins.

The SHRM student chapter merit award program, which began in 1972, was created to encourage student chapters to require ongoing excellence in the following areas: student chapter requirements, chapter operations, chapter programming and professional development of members, support of the human resource profession and SHRM engagement.

“These chapters truly represent the future of the HR profession,” said Susan Post, SHRM-SCP, East Divisional director at SHRM and the lead for SHRM’s Student Programs. “Their achievements go above and beyond their everyday academic and work commitments and we applaud the positive impact their efforts have on their schools, their local communities and beyond.”