Skip to main content


Photo of 2009 Scholarship Recipients

The Financial Aid and Scholarships Office must receive the application for new students by February 15th and continuing students by March 15th.

To be considered for a Political Science Department scholarship, you must complete and submit the online scholarship application available at the Financial Aid website. All applications submitted will be reviewed and approved by the Scholarship Committee.

If you have questions, please contact Valerie Hayes (208) 426-2530,


The Political Science scholarships information and application is available via the Boise State Online Scholarship Application system.

You may also wish to check out additional opportunities for general university-wide scholarships. Please visit the Financial Aid Scholarships homepage for more information and application materials.

To qualify for need-based scholarships you MUST submit a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) by March 15th.


The Financial Aid Services office plans to notify all scholarship recipients in late April. Your notification will most likely come via your student email account and will be visible via your BroncoWeb account. Be sure to check it often!

Available Scholarships

Based on past years, the Political Science Department expects to have the following scholarships available:

The Frank Church Scholarship
Awarded to full-fee-paying students in the Department of Political Science who show a demonstrated record of community service and the potential for leadership in the public sector. To be considered, applicants must complete the section on this application for this scholarship.

The Dr. John Keiser Public Affairs Scholarship
Awarded to full-time students who are political science majors and have a minimum 3.00 grade-point-average. Applicants must also have demonstrated involvement in community service and/or public affairs, and be a sophomore, junior, or senior by the award  year.

The Greg and Christine Raymond Political Science Scholarship
Awarded to full-time undergraduate students with an International Relations emphasis in Political Science who have a minimum 3.50 grade-point-average.

The Dr. Willard Overgaard Scholarship
Awarded to full-fee-paying students. Applicant must be a member of the Xi Chi Chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society.

The Avery Peterson Scholarship
Awarded to full-fee-paying students with an International Relations emphasis in Political Science and an interest in the Foreign Service.

The Dr. Stephanie Witt Political Science Scholarship
Awarded to full-fee-paying Political Science majors having a minimum 3.00 grade-point-average.

The Micaela Scholarship
The Micaela Scholarship is for students who plan to enrolled full-time  with a Political Science major, that are serving the community through volunteer efforts and service, and demonstrate financial need

The Todd Compton Memorial Scholarship
The Todd Compton Memorial Scholarship is for junior or senior students enrolled part-time or full-time with a minimum 3.0 GPA and Political Science major.