Skip to main content

Associated Students of Boise State University (ASBSU)


One student swears in five other students to serve in ASBSU.
ASBSU judiciary Chief Justice Brad Garner swearing in new senators. From left to right: Neil Peterson, Lisa Bewins, Naomi Peck (Ratliff), Scott Day, Weldon Smith.

The Associated Students of Boise State University is Boise State’s student government council. Formed in 1974 to replace the previous organization (ASBSC), ASBSU’s mission is to provide all students with access to campus and academic resources, and extracurricular activities and events.

ASBSU’s Constitution was revised often between 1974 and 1986, until the judicial branch rendered the Constitution “null and void” for its “ambiguity, over-specification, and several irrelevances.” Previously, the procedure for adding a constitutional amendment was for a Senate member to propose a change, and for two-thirds of the Senate to agree to the proposition. After the revisions, a change to the Constitution required a constitutional convention. More revisions occurred in 1995, 1997, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2016, 2017, and 2018.

The political structure of the club has changed over time to reflect a better understanding of governments and the changing values of the campus. Early iterations of ASBSU were composed of executive, legislative, and judicial branches. Currently, however, ASBSU is made up of four main governing bodies: the Executive Council, the Student Funding Board, the Inclusive Excellence Student Council, and the Student Assembly.

One of ASBSU’s most important duties is to allocate funding to the various student clubs and organizations on campus.

ASBJC (Associated Students of Boise Junior College): 1933-1965

ASBC (Associated Students of Boise College): 1965-1968

ASBSC (Associated Students of Boise State College): 1968-1974

ASBSU (Associated Students of Boise State University): 1974-present


Written by Rachel Taylor, Summer 2019 intern