President’s Writing Awards

Currently in its 37th year, the President’s Writing Awards contest honors undergraduate writing at Boise State.



Now Accepting 2019 Submissions

2018 Winners

Winners of the 36th annual President’s Writing Awards.

Honorarium, Art Design

  • Winner — Manuel Ortiz

Creative Nonfiction

  • 1st place — Emily Lanagan “In Memory of White Rain Soap”
  • 2nd place — August McKernan “Jelly Donuts”


  • 1st place — Pania Seeley “The Lines Between”
  • 2nd place — Cat Bullock “The Sea Maid and the Starfish”

Critical Analysis

  • 1st  place — Evan Fishburn “Finding the Perfect Souvenir: Where Commodities and Orientalism Meet”
  • 2nd place — Logan Potter “The Best of Both Worlds”

Multilingual First-Year Writing

  • Winner — Joe Ma “An Analysis of ‘Miyazaki Hayao and the Aesthetic of Imagination’”
  • Winner — Michael Hassoldt “The Way Home”

First-Year Writing

  • 1st place — Luise Winslow “Analysis of the State of the Water”
  • 2nd place — Rebecca Bettencourt “The Science Behind Sleep Paralysis”


  • 1st place — Amanda Haines “Demystifying the Model Minority Mythology”
  • 2nd place — Lacy Harness “The Process of Inventing Fictional Languages”

Civic and Ethical Foundations

  • 1st place — Mone’t Alberts “What is Your Race?  Check ONE”
  • 2nd place — Cade Yates “Black Tar? More Like Blacks Tarnished”

Graphic Designers — Each year the President’s Writing Awards works with a graphic design student to create posters, fliers, and banners to market the award.

Previous Winners

Many of the students who have submitted award-winning writing to the President’s Writing Awards in 2011 and later are listed below.

View Archive