Gmail’s confidential mode is now available for students, faculty, and staff at Boise State!
Confidential mode gives you more control over who can see the information you send in email. It allows you to protect sensitive information by disabling the ability to forward, copy, print, or download the email or attachments.
Confidential mode limits users from forwarding, printing, and downloading your email, but it doesn’t prevent recipients from taking screenshots or photos of the message or attachments.
Send messages and attachments confidentially by setting an expiration date for messages or revoking access to the email at any time. You can also require the user to enter a passcode to view the email.
When a message is sent using confidential mode, the body of the email and any attachments are replaced by a link. The recipient clicks the link and enters a passcode, if required, to view the message
If the message has expired or access is removed, the recipient will not be able to view the email. (It’s similar to how sharing permissions work in Google Drive.)
For questions or additional information, please contact the Help Desk at (208) 426-4357 or email email@example.com.