Skip to main content

Announcing the 2023 Osher Faculty Grant Award Recipients

Dana Thorp-Patterson, Director of the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at Boise State University, is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 Osher Faculty Grant awards. Twelve applications were reviewed by the Osher Faculty Grant Committee, chaired by Mr. Rick Ogle and assisted by six other Osher Institute members. The committee selected the following individuals and their research proposals:

  • “VARScent Reverse Alzheimer’s Clinical Testing.” Dr. Peter Müllner, Dr. John Bieter, and Dr. Sydney Boutros.
  • “COIFM Investigation of Self-Assembled Water Chains in Biomolecular Interactions.” Dr. Byung Kim.
  • “From Idaho Homesteader to Governor of the Philippines: A Fifteen-Episode Podcast.” Dr. Shelton Woods.

A total of $22,000 was awarded this year to support research and projects of the three successful candidates. The Osher Institute looks forward to hearing the findings and outcomes of all of the projects upon completion.

The Osher Faculty Grant is supported by the Osher Excellence Fund, created by the generosity of Osher members for the benefit of supporting Boise State faculty in specific research programs. The Osher Excellence Fund has awarded more than $195,500 to Boise State faculty since it was established in 2011.

Past recipients include Dr. Daniel Fologea, Department of Physics; Dr. Linda Reynard, Department of Geoscience; and Dr. Juliette Tinker, Department of Biological Sciences, and Dr. Henry Charlier, Department of Chemistry.

The Osher Lifelong Learning Institute is a membership-based lifelong learning program offering a wide variety of college-level, non-credit programs designed for intellectually curious adults age 50 and over. The Osher Institute is part of the Extended Studies Division at Boise State University.